David Baldacci – Hell’s Corner

David Baldacci – Hell’s Corner is the 5th installment of the Camel Club book series.

The date of publication of this novel was November 9, 2010 and it topped the New York Times bestsellers list.

Hell’s Corner book description

John Carr, aka Oliver Stone – once the most skilled assassin his country ever had – stands in Lafayette Park in front of the White House, perhaps for the last time.

The president has personally requested that Stone serve his country again on a high-risk, covert mission. Though he’s fought for decades to leave his past career behind, Stone has no choice but to say yes.

Then Stone’s mission changes drastically before it even begins. It’s the night of a state dinner honoring the British prime minister. As he watches the prime minister’s motorcade leave the White House that evening, a bomb is detonated in Lafayette Park, an apparent terrorist attack against both leaders. It’s in the chaotic aftermath that Stone takes on a new, more urgent assignment: find those responsible for the bombing.

British MI-6 agent Mary Chapman becomes Stone’s partner in the search for the unknown attackers. But their opponents are elusive, capable, and increasingly lethal; worst of all, it seems that the park bombing may just have been the opening salvo in their plan.

With nowhere else to turn, Stone enlists the help of the only people he knows he can trust: the Camel Club. Yet that may be a big mistake.

In the shadowy worlds of politics and intelligence, there is no one you can really trust.

Nothing is really what it seems to be.

And Hell’s Corner truly lives up to its name.

This may be Oliver Stone’s and the Camel Club’s last stand.

David Baldacci Hell's Corner

Click the book cover to read reviews of Hell’s Corner on Amazon